Looking for CAM strategies with VM

All discussion related to the VisualCAD/CAM standalone product.
richardl

Post by richardl »

I'm new to this CAM thing. I'm using a Taig CNC desktop mill with a
Flashcut controller.

But I'm running into some problems trying to develop G code that can
work around the fixtures such as clamps or a vise that I need to use
to secure the stock for milling.

First I tried to use regions to control the area that gets milled,
but I ran into a problem where the tool didn't use the clearance
setting when doing rapid movement between cuts. After breaking off a
mill I discovered the "Engage/Retract" tab in Visual Mill and changed
the setting not to "skim" cut transfers.

But I'm wondering what other general strategies there are for
automated milling around fixtures. Some ideas that come to mind.

- Use regions to break up the project into sections, each of which is
clear of any obstructions. Then run them separately and perhaps shift
the hold down clamps between sections as needed.

- Model the obstruction, such as a vise, and use it as a precision
region template.

- Use more sophisticated and less obstructing hold-down methods. A
friend was telling me about some sort of double stick tape they use.

Also, are there any good forums or books that can be recommended
where these sorts of CAM and CAD issues are addressed? Especially in
the context of desktop CNC milling and rapid prototyping, etc.
Strategies and techniques to address these sorts of CNC problems
don't seem to be covered anywhere much.

Thanks,

- Richard Lawler
richardl

Post by richardl »

Hi Richard,