Fillet Issues!

All topics related to RhinoCAM

Fillet Issues!

Postby MS1545867382 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:04 pm

Hello,

Pretty new to RhinoCam. Is there a way to cut this fillet with a ball mill? I do not have any fillet cutters which appears to be what RhinoCam wants me to use. I used AFD and it only gave me the Fillet option which requires a fillet cutter (I think). How could I cut this with a ball mill? I tried selecting 3-axis and Horizontal Finishing but it kept giving me an internal error when I would try and select the fillet as the control geometry. Thanks for any help.

Sandy
Attachments
Fillet-2.JPG
Fillet-2.JPG (207.47 KiB) Viewed 236 times
Fillet-1.JPG
Fillet-1.JPG (333.27 KiB) Viewed 236 times
MS1545867382
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:38 pm

Re: Fillet Issues!

Postby MecSoft Support » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:03 pm

To program the fillet with a ball mill using horizontal finishing you would have to use curve curve/edge regions from control geometry and pick the top edge of the fillet as shown in the screen capture. You can then use the cut levels tab to control the step down and the bottom cut level.
Attachments
Fillet_HorizontalFinishing.JPG
Fillet_HorizontalFinishing.JPG (45.45 KiB) Viewed 231 times
MecSoft Support
 
Posts: 2472
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Irvine, CA, USA

Re: Fillet Issues!

Postby MS1545867382 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:26 am

Yes, thanks, that worked! I had tried that method but it looked it was bypassing the fillet and only cutting the pocket. Once I reduced the step down then I could see it was actually cutting the fillet. I'll limit the bottom cut too. Thanks for the solution!
MS1545867382
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:38 pm


Return to RhinoCAM Topics & Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron